Kinook Software Forum

Kinook Software Forum (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] General Discussion (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Formatting Date and Time (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=277)

ShaneJimmerson 12-19-2003 03:41 PM

Formatting Date and Time
 
Is there an easy way to format the current date and time in the following format:

dd/mm/yyyy;hh:mm[a|p]

Here is a sample:
12/19/2003;04:34p

I would like to set a macro with the date and time of the current build in the format above so that I can run a SourceSafe history report of all changes since the last build.

I would appreciate any suggestions that you might have.

Thanks,
Shane

kinook 12-19-2003 05:20 PM

I think VSS actually wants the date in mm/dd/yy format. Anyway, you can tweak this code as necessary (paste into your global or project scripts in the Script Editor):

Function FormatDateVSS()
' returns the current date+time in the form
' mm/dd/yy;hh:mm[a|p]

Dim dte, h, p

dte = Now
h = Hour(dte)
If h >= 12 Then
p = "p"
h = h - 12
Else
p = "a"
If h = 0 Then h = 12
End If
FormatDateVSS = vbld_PadLeft(CStr(Month(dte)), 2, "0") & "/" & _
vbld_PadLeft(CStr(Day(dte)), 2, "0") & "/" & _
vbld_PadLeft(CStr(Year(dte)), 2, "0") & ";" & _
vbld_PadLeft(CStr(h), 2, "0") & ":" & _
vbld_PadLeft(CStr(Minute(dte)), 2, "0") & p

End Function


And use in a step field like

[FormatDateVSS]


For instance,


formatted date = [FormatDateVSS]
1
New Step

GrahamS 01-05-2004 11:24 AM

Actually VSS uses the locale to determine the date format. European users of VSS will (mostly) have dates in dd/mm/yy format, whilst North American users (and others) will have the mm/dd/yy format

ShaneJimmerson 01-05-2004 12:04 PM

Thanks for the info.

The VBScript you posted worked fine, but I was also trying to do it with JScript and it returns instead of the formatted date and time. I also tried some other JScript functions like vbld_FormatDateTime and they alse returned . Is this a limitaion of using JScript or is there something else that I need to do?

kinook 01-05-2004 12:16 PM

You should be able to use .toString() on any JScript expression to force it to be evaluated as a string.

ShaneJimmerson 01-05-2004 12:43 PM

I did not realize that you had to use parenthasis when calling a JScript function from a step field.

I was just using

[FormatDateVSSJScript]

when I should have been using

[FormatDateVSSJScript()]

Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.