Kinook Software Forum

Kinook Software Forum (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [UR] General Discussion (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   German language / Umlaute (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3893)

pereh 12-20-2008 10:38 AM

German language / Umlaute

Hello,

I am new to UR and just doing my first steps, and I have a question for which I could not find an answer in the doku or the forum.
Most of the documents I use are in German language, so there are a lot of special characters like Ä, ä, Ö, etc. (Umlaute). Not only don't they appear in the normal text display of the items, but the words containing such characters are also ignored when building the automated keywords. That way, searching might sometimes become pointless.
Is there a way to tell UR to handle these characters like normal ones?

Thanks for your help,
Peter.

hartmut 12-21-2008 02:43 AM

I tested this now and found out that there is no Problem with the German Umlaut in the Title names or clean text-files, htm-files or Word-files documents imported into ultrarecall.
The Umlaute are shown in PDF Files but cannot be searched, even not with wildcards like "?" and "*"
The search within the PDF-document with the search function of the pdf-reader works well
In the Item Keyword window in all words with umlaute the umlaute are missing in the keyword list, but a far as I have seen only in pdf documents and not in the other kinds of documents mentioned above.
For example "Küche" ist found with Aearch Value "Küche" in all documents except PDF. IN PDF it will be found with "Kche" and not with"K?che"

Hartmut

pereh 12-22-2008 08:37 AM

Hello Hartmut,

thanks for your reply. You are right; I will have to use the search without Umlaute.

kinook 12-22-2008 09:11 AM