Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:20 AM
teognost teognost is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-25-2004
Location: Prague,Czech Republic
Posts: 175
Make VS 2005 vs Make VS 2008

As I seen your answer on this post:
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...t=make+VS+2008

for me it is not clear why exist 3 actions Make VS.NET / Make VS 2005 / Make VS 2008 if they are actually the same ?
And having a VBP project -how can I tell if an action is Make VS 2005, Make VS.NET or Make VS 2008(as when checking the properties I did not notice any difference)?

We have a build box with VS2005 installed and we used Make VS 2005 action (or Make VS.NET ,I am not sure)
From now we plan to migrate the trunk builds to VS 2008 but branch builds will remain to VS 2005 (so both VS 2005 and 2008 will be installed on build box)
I guess I should put some switches to use a Make VS 2008 action for trunk and Make VS 2005 action for branches (I will use the same VBP project for trunk and branch builds)
Or should I use a Make VS.NET action as it will detect automatically whether is VS2005 \2008 solution and I do not need any switches?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2008, 12:23 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
They are all aliases for the very same action, so you can use them interchangeably. They're only there for convenience, since it may not be obvious to users that the Make VS.NET action also works with VS 2008, for instance. It's the version of the project or solution file for a particular step that determines which version of VS will be invoked when the step is built.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:22 AM
teognost teognost is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-25-2004
Location: Prague,Czech Republic
Posts: 175
Thanks for info!
So basically in case of moving to VS 2008 -I do not need to make any change into existing VBP project ,based on project being compiled the step is performed correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:07 AM
teognost teognost is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-25-2004
Location: Prague,Czech Republic
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
They are all aliases for the very same action, so you can use them interchangeably. They're only there for convenience, since it may not be obvious to users that the Make VS.NET action also works with VS 2008, for instance. It's the version of the project or solution file for a particular step that determines which version of VS will be invoked when the step is built.
One more thing -is required some special setting when compiling VS2008 project in order to use .Net Frwork 3.5 (VS 2005 used .Net Frwork 2.0)?
Is it ok if VS2008 is installed after VisBuild is installed on that box?(I am thinking maybe first VS2005 and VS2008 need to be installed and then VisBuild as it would set some system macros)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:15 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
Quote:
Originally posted by teognost
One more thing -is required some special setting when compiling VS2008 project in order to use .Net Frwork 3.5 (VS 2005 used .Net Frwork 2.0)?
No. By default, MSBuild 3.5 will be used for VS 2008 projects and MSBuild 2.0 will be used for VS 2005 projects.

Quote:
Is it ok if VS2008 is installed after VisBuild is installed on that box?
VBP can be installed before or after VS (it determines versions and compiler locations at build time).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.