Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2009, 08:43 AM
Too_Tall_Crown_Victoria Too_Tall_Crown_Victoria is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-14-2003
Posts: 44
VBP is locking up

We just recently upgraded to 7.2 after running 6.5 for quite a few years. We have installed 7.2 on the same system as our 6.5. We converted 1 build script from 6.5 to 7.2 and started to run some builds.

We have been seeing problems running the script in 7.2. When running in GUI mode the script will lock up. What I mean by this is that the system tray icon says it is "building" but I cannot open the GUI. I see it in the taskbar but cannot do anything with it. When I right click the item in the task bar all options are "greyed out" except the "Close". I cannot Alt-Tab to the GUI either.

When I check the log it shows that it is performing an xcopy but does not return. As of now it has been stuck on this xcopy for 5 hours now. This has happened about 6 times now all on xcopy, however it is a different xcopy each time. If I kill the script and restart it, it almost always makes it past that failure point but is likely to fail again.

Where there any change made to the way xcopy works in 7.2? I have never seen this behavior in any version of VBP in the past 6 years. The xcopy we are using is a DOS command xcopy, not a build in step.

Is it possible that there is a message box or dialog being shown at a system level that I cannot see to dismiss? But would that explain why I cannot view the GUI anymore?

I am running on a 2K3 R2 SP2 server.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2009, 09:29 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=3892
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2009, 11:39 AM
Too_Tall_Crown_Victoria Too_Tall_Crown_Victoria is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-14-2003
Posts: 44
Update

I have been implementing the procedures outlined in the previous post. However, it is not helping. This morning I ran into the lock up a number of times. However it never locks up on the same step/action. However, I did start to notice that all the lockups have been on a "Run Program" step that migrated from VB6. Even after setting the affinity to 1 it did not help. Most of my "Run Programs" were doing xcopy commands via DOS.

Once I converted the first group of xcopy command to use the File Copy step it did not fail.

A few questions on this:
1. Is there an issue in the migration of "Run Program" from previous programs"
2. Why would an xcopy lock up VBP?
3. Should I discontinue the use the older "Rum Program"'s and reset them to the new actions?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2009, 11:59 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
Re: Update

Quote:
Originally posted by Too_Tall_Crown_Victoria
I have been implementing the procedures outlined in the previous post. However, it is not helping. This morning I ran into the lock up a number of times. However it never locks up on the same step/action. However, I did start to notice that all the lockups have been on a "Run Program" step that migrated from VB6. Even after setting the affinity to 1 it did not help. Most of my "Run Programs" were doing xcopy commands via DOS.

Once I converted the first group of xcopy command to use the File Copy step it did not fail.

A few questions on this:
1. Is there an issue in the migration of "Run Program" from previous programs"
2. Why would an xcopy lock up VBP?
3. Should I discontinue the use the older "Rum Program"'s and reset them to the new actions?

Thanks
1. Not that we're aware of
2. We don't know -- we haven't been able to reproduce the hang
3. Do you mean that a Run Program step calling vb6.exe directly hangs, but replacing it with a Make VB6 step doesn't? I can't explain that either, since both actions call the same underlying code to run a program. But if that works, it might be one workaround.

Can you narrow it down to a project calling xcopy that reproduces the behavior often and that we can build here?

Please ZIP and send to support@kinook.com:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) A screen shot of System properties (Windows+Break)
3) The .bld file
4) A build log file when the hang occurs
5) How is the build being launched: interactively, via a scheduled task, etc.?
6) Running on physical hardware or in a virtual machine?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.