Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:47 PM
dheller dheller is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-07-2007
Location: New Castle, DE
Posts: 14
VB Script error when trying to increment the Property CDVersion in InstallShield

I have created a new Private Property in my InstallShield project called CDVersion, with the value 1.1.0.280. I would like to use a VBScript to increment that number just like the one that is used to Increment The ProductVersion. I have tried to modify that script, but I get an error at line 19, (Object doesn't support this property or method: 'objInst.CDVersion')

Is there a way I can get this to work?

' create the InstallShield Developer automation object

Set objInst = CreateObject("ISWiAuto14.ISWiProject")
' for InstallShield 2008 (use SAAuto14.ISWiProject for standalone)

' use "ISWiAuto12.ISWiProject" for InstallShield 12 (use SAAuto12.ISWiProject for standalone)




' open the project file

objInst.OpenProject "C:\My Setups\Trios2_Release\Trios2_Release.ism"

' this code demonstrates incrementing the CD version number

' retrieve and split the CDVersion

verArr = Split(objInst.CDVersion, ".")

' increment last field

verArr(UBound(verArr)) = CStr(verArr(UBound(verArr)) + 1)

' update the project

objInst.CDVersion = Join(verArr, ".")

objInst.SaveProject

objInst.CloseProject
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:52 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
You would need to ask the InstallShield vendor.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:57 PM
dheller dheller is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-07-2007
Location: New Castle, DE
Posts: 14
Well, I not very familiar with VB so I wanted to knowif the script was setup to properly increment the number just as the script that increments The ProductVersion
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2008, 11:40 AM
wallywojo wallywojo is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-05-2006
Posts: 10
Not sure if you are still working on this, but the Automation interface you are using there does not expose all the properties in the property table, just a select few.

To do this, you will need to use the Windows Installer Automation Interface where you have access to the entire database. InstallShield's help has step-by-step guide in a kb on how to use that interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.