Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2008, 05:06 AM
ashwken ashwken is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-16-2005
Location: Blairsville, GA USA
Posts: 431
Info Items from Restricted List

Perhaps this has been discussed before...

Currently an Info Item does a lookup to the Data Explorer, you can specify a starting node, but what if I want to restrict the list of available choices - if a particular field is always using the same half-dozen choices.

It's the same funcitionality as the Restricted Pick List for the String Attribute.

Also, any thoughts on having the Info Item display string default to a given color on the Form - blue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:48 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,753
Re: Info Items from Restricted List

Quote:
Originally posted by ashwken
Perhaps this has been discussed before...

Currently an Info Item does a lookup to the Data Explorer, you can specify a starting node, but what if I want to restrict the list of available choices - if a particular field is always using the same half-dozen choices.
The Choose Item dialog defaults to the current attribute's value, so if the choices are in close proximity they can be accessed quickly. Otherwise, you could logically link the common choices together somewhere.

Quote:
Also, any thoughts on having the Info Item display string default to a given color on the Form - blue?
Why?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2008, 02:57 PM
ashwken ashwken is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-16-2005
Location: Blairsville, GA USA
Posts: 431
Re: Re: Info Items from Restricted List

Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
...Otherwise, you could logically link the common choices together somewhere.
Yes, something along these lines was bouncing around in my head, thanks for the feedback.
Quote:

Also, any thoughts on having the Info Item display string default to a given color on the Form - blue?
=====
Why?
Well, as a visual indicator that the field is an Info Item (subject to Ctrl-Q jump to). Currently I include some distinguishing text in the Attribute Title (Mag_Title_Info) - perhaps I just need to re-think my naming conventions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2009, 01:44 AM
ashwken ashwken is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-16-2005
Location: Blairsville, GA USA
Posts: 431
Is it my imagination, or is the Info Item display string (on a Form) now being displayed in the "Windows shadow color" (UR v.3.5.4.0)?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2009, 08:20 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,753
It is, but I think it's been that way for some time (always?).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2009, 08:49 AM
ashwken ashwken is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-16-2005
Location: Blairsville, GA USA
Posts: 431
While it may not be as distinct as blue, it is noticable now that I know to expect it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.