Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2006, 10:01 AM
autodesk autodesk is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-19-2006
Posts: 10
C++ project versioning

Hi there,

We have multiple C++ projects some of which are managed and some are unmanaged. How does the build .NET solution action handle versioning for those projects? Is the action able to update the version for C++ automatically? We have an example of a managed C++ project that is not being versioned.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:37 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,703
See http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/vsnetversionstab.htm for details on how versioning of VS.NET projects is handled. If that doesn't help, please ZIP and send or post:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) The .bld file used to build
3) A build log file
4) The .sln file and project files (no source code files)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2010, 11:45 AM
mbrock mbrock is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-05-2009
Posts: 9
Problem versioning split resource files

We have some unmanaged C++ projects that aren't versioning properly. The reason for this appears to be the fact that the rc files for these projects are split into two. The first rc file has an include for rc2, and it's the rc2 file that actually has the versioning information. If these rc files are merged back into 1 rc file, then the versioning works as expected.

My question is this: how is VBP updating these rc files? In the previous release of our product, we were using VS2008 and VBP version 6. In that release, we still had the split rc files, but yet the versioning worked just fine. It was only after converting our VS2008 projects to VS2010, and upgrading to VBP version 7 that the versioning of our C++ DLLs with the split rc files stopped working.

I went back to VBP version 6, and the versioning still didn't work, so I'm thinking it's more something in the conversion to VS2010 that caused it to break.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2010, 01:04 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,703
To set/increment versions, the Make VS.NET/2005/2008/2010 actions parse the project file for resource files (*.rc*), and these files are searched for version info sections and updated if found. Please send the info requested here:
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=3044
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.