Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2004, 09:44 AM
GrahamS GrahamS is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-26-2003
Posts: 16
Problems with FTP

I'm trying to do an FTP get with wild cards (in binary mode) but I get an error:

Error transferring file(s) '/mydir/myfile*': Unable to access file on server (/mydir/myfile*: No such file or directory. )
Step 'Get files' failed

There are only two files myfile.so and myfiled.so

If I do them as two separate steps it works fine.

Any ideas what is going wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:12 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
There's a bug in the FTP action when dealing with wildcards: it only handles them properly when the first character in the Local file field (when putting) or the Remote file field (when getting) is a wildcard character. Otherwise, it treats the filename as a single file to be processed, resulting in an error. Here is an update with a fix for this: http://www.kinook.com/Download/VisBuildNet.zip. Extract it to your VBP install path (close VBP first).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2004, 08:35 AM
GrahamS GrahamS is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-26-2003
Posts: 16
Thanks - that's fixed it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2006, 04:16 PM
willassaf willassaf is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-08-2006
Posts: 5
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
There's a bug in the FTP action when dealing with wildcards: it only handles them properly when the first character in the Local file field (when putting) or the Remote file field (when getting) is a wildcard character. Otherwise, it treats the filename as a single file to be processed, resulting in an error. Here is an update with a fix for this: http://www.kinook.com/Download/VisBuildNet.zip. Extract it to your VBP install path (close VBP first).
I have 5.6a and have run across this bug. Any way I can get a patch to fix my version for this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:00 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
The fix described is in v5.6 and later.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:23 PM
willassaf willassaf is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-08-2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
The fix described is in v5.6 and later.
Let me rephrase: I am running 5.6a AND I am encountering the above bug. Is there any other remedy to this situation?

I cannot define a remote directory in screen FTP - Transfer - Remote file (when getting) or Local file (when putting) and use a * or *.* for a wildcard of 'all files'. Works fine when I define an individual file.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:16 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
There haven't been any related bugs reported or fixed in v5 since the 5.6 release, and we are no longer supporting, enhancing or making changes to v5.x.

But a simple test w/ the attached sample works as expected here in v5.6:

Connecting to FTP server 'ftp.microsoft.com' on port 21
Transferring index.txt
Transferring README.TXT
2 file(s) successfully transferred

Maybe something isn't configured properly in your step?
Attached Files
File Type: bld ftptest.bld (569 Bytes, 391 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2006, 08:36 AM
willassaf willassaf is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-08-2006
Posts: 5
Well, your test file works.

But in my case, if I provide folder\* as the Get File, it returns

\\DestinationFolder\ <- folder/*
Error transferring file '': The specified directory could not be found (Type set to A.)
Step 'FTP' failed
Build ended.


If I provide folder\file.aspx as the Get File, it succeeds.

\\DestinationFolder\ <- folder/file.aspx
Transferring file.aspx
1 file(s) successfully transferred
Build successfully completed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:22 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
It appears that the server is actually reporting the existence of a file with no name and an error occurs when VBP tries to transfer it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:25 AM
willassaf willassaf is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-08-2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
It appears that the server is actually reporting the existence of a file with no name and an error occurs when VBP tries to transfer it.
Any insight on a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:46 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
Perhaps *.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:45 AM
willassaf willassaf is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-08-2006
Posts: 5
Nope. Is there an escape character of some sort that would translate * correctly as a wildcard and not an actual file name?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:00 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
Since v5.6, a * in the Local field (for a put) or the Remote field (for a get) will be treated as a wildcard. I don't believe that's the issue here. But again, VBP v5 is no longer a supported product.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.