Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:57 AM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
Question How do you run a script on Linux?

Hello everyone,

I'm building software on a Linux and Windows. Is there a way to run a VB Pro script on Windows which starts a script on Linux?

I looked at the network.bld sample and tied to implement the ssh portion of it with no success. My Linux box is refusing the connection even though I can connect to it using putty.exe.

The Create SSH Tunnel step works but the Telnet step does not.

Has anyone gotten something like this to work?

Thank you for your help.

Warren
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:11 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
We regularly use the Telnet action (through an SSH [PLink] tunnel ala the Network.bld sample) to execute commands on a FreeBSD (Unix) box from a VBP script.

Please ZIP and send or post:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) The .bld file
3) A build log file

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:51 AM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
I'm running the eval version:

Visual Build Professional 6.4
Evaluation Version: 24 days remaining
Windows Version: 5.2.3790.2.0
Install path: C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro6
SftTree_IX86_U_50.dll version 5.06
unins000.exe version 51.46.0.0
VisBuildCmd.exe version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildPro.exe version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildBld.dll version 6.4.0.3
VisBuildBurn.dll version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildCore.dll version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildDotNET.dll version 6.4.0.0
VisBuildExt.dll version 6.4.0.3
VisBuildLog.dll version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildMisc.dll version 6.4.0.3
VisBuildMS.dll version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildMS2.dll version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildNet.dll version 6.4.0.3
VisBuildSvr.dll version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildSvr.Interop.dll version 1.0.0.0
VisBuildVCS.dll version 6.4.0.4

My Linux PC is running Fedora Core 1.
The PC is Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Service Pack 2

I can run putty.exe from the Windows Server and connect successfully. The ssh option is used.

I tried running the script (same eval) on my desktop (XP Pro) and I was able to run putty, ssh and telnet via the script successfully. In the telnet step I had no info in the script window. When I put something in it would fail. However, I don't think I was doing it correctly.

If I can get this part working then I would be able to go ahead and purchase.

Warren

Your help is appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip egs_2.39.zip (7.0 KB, 2914 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:02 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
Make sure you have initialized Putty as described here:
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/plinktunnelaction.htm

Also, your Create Tunnel step creates a local endpoint at localhost, port 2023 for linuxbld3, port 23 (default Telnet port), but your Telnet step is not using the tunnel (connecting to 10.0.4.70 port 21 instead of locahost port 2023).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:46 PM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
linuxbld3 and 10.0.4.70 are the same machine.
If I change the Telnet port to 2023 it fails;
7/26/2007 2:52:01 PM: Building project step 'Telnet thru tunnel'...
Connecting to Telnet server 'linuxbld3' on port 2023
Error connecting to Telnet server: The connection has been refused by the remote host
7/26/2007 2:52:02 PM: Step 'Telnet thru tunnel' failed
7/26/2007 2:52:02 PM: Build ended.


Putty was set up. I answered yes to the RSA/DSA key question prior to trying this.

Maybe I'm just not understanding the steps to get it to work.

Can you give me the baby steps version on how to make it work?

I want to be able to connect to my Linux box (linuxbld3) and run test.sh in the /home/player directory. I will be logging in as root.

Last edited by warrenc; 07-26-2007 at 01:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:52 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
To connect directly, the default Telnet port is 23, not 21.

To connect through the tunnel, use localhost for the server and 2023 for the port.

Please ZIP and send or post a build log file (with Logging on the Telnet step set to All + hex dump).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:01 PM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
Well that seemed to work. Here's the log:

7/26/2007 2:55:19 PM: --------------------Starting Build: 'D:\VisualBuildPro\EGS_2.39.bld'--------------------
7/26/2007 2:55:19 PM: Building project step 'Telnet thru tunnel'...
Connecting to Telnet server 'localhost' on port 2023
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 INF: started thread 0x114 trace on 07-26-2007 14:55:19 [4.50.4520]
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0015 INF: gethostbyname("localhost") returned 127.0.0.1 (EGSBuild.engineering.local)
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 INF: socket(2, 1, 0) returned 1444
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 WRN: connect(1444, 127.0.0.1:2023, 16) returned -1 [10035]
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 INF: select(64, 0x0, 0x378f178, 0x378f074, 20:0) returned 1
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 INF: WSAIsBlocking() returned FALSE
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0031 INF: select(64, 0x378f12c, 0x0, 0x0, 20:0) returned 1
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 INF: recv(1444, 0x26550ad, 8192, 0) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 145519 0000 INF: closesocket(1444) returned 0

Script successfully executed
7/26/2007 2:55:19 PM: Build successfully completed.

Now, if I'm connected to the Linux PC. How do I run the test.sh script that is located in /home/player?

Thank you for your patience.

BTW, in the script window in telnet step there is a blank line. If I remove it then the telnet step fails. Therefore, I guess something needs to be there but what? A command? If so, then how would I do it?

Last edited by warrenc; 07-26-2007 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:09 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
It depends on the prompts your server sends and what your script output. Some samples are in Network.bld.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/telnettab.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/networksample.htm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:31 PM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
OK. This is where I need the help.
My intent is to call a .sh file that when run on Linux compiles C++ code. When it is finished it just returns back to the command prompt. In the mean time, it is displaying all sorts of build output.

The prompt looks like this when you are on the Linux PC:
[root@linuxbld3 2.39.0100]#

So for the sake of an example, suppose I want to call a script called test.sh that is located in /home/player. The script has the following:

#!/bin/sh
echo "This is a test for Visual Build Pro"

How do I set it up in the telnet step to call the script?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:00 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
Script: A script to execute, with one response match or send string per line (required) in the form:

[!]<initial server string to match>
<send string>
[!]<response string to match>
<send string>
[!]<response string to match>
...

If the response string to match is found anywhere in the server response, the next send string will be sent until the entire script has been performed. If the response string is not found, an error occurs. To perform a negative match (anything except the response string), prefix the response string with an exclamation point (!).

So probably something like

[root@linuxbld3 2.39.0100]#
~/home/player/test.sh
This is a test for Visual Build Pro
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-26-2007, 04:00 PM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
Thank you. However, it still doesn't work. I got the following error:

7/26/2007 4:55:56 PM: --------------------Starting Build: 'C:\Data\Dev\EGS_2.39.bld'--------------------
7/26/2007 4:55:56 PM: Building project step 'Telnet thru tunnel'...
Connecting to Telnet server 'localhost' on port 2023
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 INF: started thread 0xF18 trace on 07-26-2007 16:55:56 [4.50.4520]
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 INF: gethostbyname("localhost") returned 127.0.0.1 (wcameron.engineering.local)
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 INF: socket(2, 1, 0) returned 1108
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 WRN: connect(1108, 127.0.0.1:2023, 16) returned -1 [10035]
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0015 INF: select(64, 0x0, 0x172f174, 0x172f070, 20:0) returned 1
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 INF: WSAIsBlocking() returned FALSE
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 INF: select(64, 0x172f128, 0x0, 0x0, 20:0) returned 1
VISBUILDPRO 165556 0000 INF: recv(1108, 0x252efd, 8192, 0) returned 0

Error expanding macros or script in property Script: <Error at Line 1, Column 5 (Invalid character)
Code: root@linuxbld3 root>
7/26/2007 4:55:56 PM: Step 'Telnet thru tunnel' failed
7/26/2007 4:55:56 PM: Build ended.

The assumption is that when I telnet into the Linux PC it is a the /root directory.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-26-2007, 04:03 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
Sorry, that should have been
[[root@linuxbld3 2.39.0100]]#

http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/specialchars.htm
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-26-2007, 04:38 PM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
Based upon the hex dump above, is it connecting successfully?

My next question is the response seems to be mismatched because it still fails on the first line of the script:

[[root@linuxbld3 root]]#
/home/player/2.39.0100/test.sh
This is a test for Visual Build Pro

When I use putty.exe to connect I get the following on the screen:

login as: root
root@linuxbld3's password:
Last login: Thu Jul 26 17:30:18 2007 from wcameron
[root@linuxbld3 toot]#

How can I tell what the response should be from the server so that I can match it in my telnet script?

If I leave the telnet script blank it returns successfully.

Does the hex dump reveal anything?

Last edited by warrenc; 07-26-2007 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:20 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,706
It looks like it connected, but the log doesn't help beyond that, since it never got to the point of processing the script. Also, use a Logging setting of Text to see what text the action is sending and receiving.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-27-2007, 12:44 PM
warrenc warrenc is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-21-2004
Posts: 13
Well I got it working by just using telnet. We don't need the connection to be secure.

I found out that I had to install the telnet server package first before I could connect.

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.