Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 3.50 average. Display Modes
Old 12-15-2004, 02:17 PM

passing parameters to sub-projects and environment variables

I have a master visual build project that calls a number of sub visual build projects using the VisBuildPro Project action. 7 project level (with env. variable checked) macros are passed as parameters each time to the sub projects. The sub projects call out to some batch files using the "Run Program" action in a subroutine. The batch files use the macros to do various things.

Everything works fine in the VisBuildPro GUI app but when trying to build using the VisBuildCmd app the macros are unavailable to the batch files in the sub-projects.

I have read through the help and other posts and I have found a a few workarounds/solutions to my problem. None are as simple as I'd like. I'm curious as to whether this is expected behaviour of the VisBuildCmd app?
Old 12-15-2004, 05:34 PM
Administrator

When you have macros that are marked to update environment variables, you don't need to (and actually probably should not) pass them as parameters to the child project; when the build starts, all existing macros that are marked to update env vars are updated in the current process env block, which is (recursively) inherited by any processes started by VBP (and are also available as system macros in the child VBP instance if 'Tools | Application Options | Macros | Include env vars in system macros' is checked).

So, when the parent build starts, the env block will be updated with the current project macro values. The child VBP process will inherit those env values, as will the batch file that is invoked by the child project.

I made a simple test here (attached) and it produces the expected output when built via the GUI or console app: