Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Old 01-08-2005, 01:55 PM

Synchronizing

Hello:

I am now trying out UltraRecall. I have never used a program like this before, but I have alot of information I want to organize and effectively search.

This may have a simple fix, but I am not figuring it out. I moved a document folder filled with .doc files into the data explorer pane. I can nicely search it.

Now the question: if I create a new word file through Word and save it to that original document folder, ought it not also appear in the folder at the data explorer pane? It has not worked for me. Must there be some sort of synchronization step? When I attempt to do so, the item/synchronize menu is shaded - not active.

What shall I do?

Thanks!
Old 01-08-2005, 07:17 PM
Administrator

Currently Ultra Recall doesn't have an auto-synchronize feature to automatically create new Info Items for files as they are added to a local folder. We have this type of functionality on our feature request list, our initial idea is to provide a simpler way to identify which files have been added/deleted locally so they can more easily be manually synchronized with an Ultra Recall Info Database.

If you have a Folder Info Item for the folder in question in Ultra Recall (with a valid folder path assigned to a Url Attribute), and you have added *folder to the list of extensions to show in the Internal Browser View (Tools | Options | Browser | File Extensions to display in internal browser view), the folder contents will be displayed in the Item Details Pane, facilitating adding new folder contents (files) to the Data Explorer Pane.

Another option is to simply store your Word documents within the Ultra Recall Info Database (they are stored compressed). You can even create an stored empty Word doc template so you can create new Word documents directly within an Ultra Recall Database.
Steps to create a stored Word Doc template: