Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2008, 02:04 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
memory leak

I am asking the following question on 5 different forums that reflect the 5 programs I use through my work day. The question is:

Is there a memory leak in UltraRecall Pro?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2008, 02:18 PM
Jon Polish Jon Polish is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-21-2006
Posts: 372
I don't see one here.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:38 PM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Re: memory leak

Quote:
Originally posted by janrif
Is there a memory leak in UltraRecall Pro?
What events lead you to believe the memory leak?
Is it a beta version?
Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:01 AM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Armstrong,

I'm on beta 3.5, most current

Nothing particular to UR, just a general slow down after a few hrs. I've posted the same question on 5 forums for the 5 programs I use daily.

Finally, I think the culprit may be FF but not quite sure yet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:11 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally posted by janrif
[B]Armstrong,
I'm on beta 3.5, most current
The Beta by the same version number 3.5 has been updated on March 13.
I always run four instances of huge URDs without noticeable performance deterioration.

BTW, what's FF mentioned in your post?

Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:35 AM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by armsys
The Beta by the same version number 3.5 has been updated on March 13.
Yes, thank you. I am running that beta
Quote:
Originally posted by armsys I always run four instances of huge URDs without noticeable performance deterioration.
This may answer my question
Quote:
Originally posted by armsys BTW, what's FF mentioned in your post?
Sorry.... Firefox
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:20 AM
kevina kevina is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 03-26-2003
Posts: 825
My experience with FF (which I believe is typical), is that keeping several tabs open will cause FF to continue using/leaking memory until it is consuming 200+ MB of memory which, if you have a relatively small amount of ram installed (I have 2GB) will undoubtedly cause performance issues... That is my main problem with FF (version 2.x), I am hoping that version 3.0 (which I think is still in beta) will fix this annoying issue...

Sometimes I will use Task Manager to "kill" FF when the memory usage gets too high, then restart it (which preserves the open tabs).

On the other hand, if I simply want to keep the multiple FF tab urls for future use/reading, or want to restart Windows, I simply hold the Shift key when clicking the Store or Link UR toolbar button (in FF) and put them all into UR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:45 AM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by kevina
My experience with FF (which I believe is typical), is that keeping several tabs open will cause FF to continue using/leaking memory until it is consuming 200+ MB of memory [snip] if I simply want to keep the multiple FF tab urls for future use/reading, or want to restart Windows, I simply hold the Shift key when clicking the Store or Link UR toolbar button (in FF) and put them all into UR
Aha. That's probably it. Damn good advice. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.