Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:18 AM
dgh dgh is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-17-2011
Posts: 13
Building dependent dll's

Hi,

I have a number of individual programs that all depend on a common dll. Whilst I have individual builds for each one, including the dll, I have a 'master' build that does the lot including running InstallAware etc.

In the master build I set a macro to a common version number that is used by each build. The first item built is the common dll.

The problem is that the remaining builds for the individual programs all reference the now 'old' version number of the common dll.

How do I update the reference to the common dll in the remaining builds?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2011, 01:14 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,911
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=2810

http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=2015

http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=463
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2011, 08:20 PM
dgh dgh is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-17-2011
Posts: 13
Thanks for the references.

After spending an hour and a half trying to learn the inner workings of XPath I am only slightly wiser as to what ::::::: means. Everything I've read refers to ////////.

I tracked down some examples of WriteXML and the only one I found on this board is:

/nc:configuration/nc:system.web/nc:sessionState

It took me at least 15 minutes to discover what the /nc represented.

I've now used:
/nc:ItemGroup/nc:Reference[@Include='MCCommon']

and get this error:

Error in System (VBScript) script code at Line 27, Column 2 (Error expanding macros or script in property XPath: /nc:ItemGroup/nc:Reference<Error at Line 1, Column 1 (Invalid character)
Code: @Include='MCCommon'>)

I think I've tried every combination I can think of without luck.

Can someone please put me out of my misery ... thanks ...

EDIT ... OK ... I need [[ ]] and the value I was using to check was 'incomplete'. Seems I now need to learn RegEx and use 'Replace in File <sigh>.

Last edited by dgh; 06-27-2011 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Copyright 1999-2022 Kinook Software, Inc.