Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:52 AM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
How are macros saved?

Hello.

I am close to finishing a project, which will be saved with Surround SCM. My question is this: When the project or .bld file is checked in, are the macros (and their value) also saved with it? If not, where are they saved so that I can also check in that information along with the project. I'm thinking of creating a folder to store the macros that belong to the .bld file.

Also, the system, temp macros, script, subroutine and failure steps, where is that located, and when checked in (or out), can it all be placed together, or does it need to be in a specific location or folder in order for it to work.

Thank you.

Last edited by ambalboa; 06-26-2007 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2007, 10:12 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,758
Project macros and script and project, subroutine, and failure steps are stored in the .bld file. Temp macros and script are stored only in memory. Global macros, script, steps, and options are typically stored in the common application data path, but various methods are available to override the location:
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/co...ationfiles.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2007, 11:16 AM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
Thank you.

A follow-up question: Are the system macros initialized when the Visual Build Pro is installed on a computer, and are read-only? If so, I don't need to bother with them, right?

Also, when I check on the configuration file path, I only see a .macros and .steps file but no .scripts file. Is this because my .bld file has no global script written for it?

And the system scripts, they are stored in the VisBuildPro.System.scripts file. Where is this located, or should I care?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2007, 11:23 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,758
Quote:
Originally posted by ambalboa
Thank you.

A follow-up question: Are the system macros initialized when the Visual Build Pro is installed on a computer, and are read-only? If so, I don't need to bother with them, right?
They're initialized at startup of VBP and are read-only.

Quote:
Also, when I check on the configuration file path, I only see a .macros and .steps file but no .scripts file. Is this because my .bld file has no global script written for it?
Right, the file is not created until global script code is added and VBP is exited or a project is saved.

Quote:
And the system scripts, they are stored in the VisBuildPro.System.scripts file. Where is this located, or should I care?
The System subfolder of the VBP installation path, but you shouldn't need to care.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.