Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2015, 06:51 AM
nikolaynnov nikolaynnov is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-04-2013
Posts: 4
Make VS action uses incorrect MSBuild

There is a build script to build 2 projects for MSVS2008 (2 .vcproj files + 1 .sln) and a few projects for MSVS2013 (only .vcxproj files). To build vcproj a "Make VS 2008" step is used. To build vcxproj a "Make VS2012" step is used. Till today everything was fine. But today I have installed path KB976656 (http://thehotfixshare.net/board/inde...showfile=11640) for VS2008 to fix fatal error C1859. Afterwards the vcproj is compiled ok, but when running step "Make VS 2012" on vcxproj, incorrect version of devenv is used:
01.06.2015 13:37:08: Building subroutine step 19 - window...
Pre-processing...

Rebuilding configuration 'Release|Win32'...
Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.com" D:\buildscripts\8_7_39\trunk\NISS400\Slaves\window \App.vcxproj /rebuild "Release|Win32"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.com" D:\buildscripts\8_7_39\trunk\NISS400\Slaves\window \App.vcxproj /rebuild "Release|Win32"

Microsoft (R) Visual Studio Version 9.0.30729.1.
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved.

Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
Invalid solution configuration

Use:
devenv [solutionfile | projectfile | anyfile.ext] [switches]
...


Output from cmd:
C:\Users\build>where msbuild
INFO: Could not find files for the given pattern(s).

C:\Users\build>where vcbuild
INFO: Could not find files for the given pattern(s).

C:\Users\build>

Output from VS2008 cmd:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC>where msbuild
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\MSBuild.ex e
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\MSBu ild.exe

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC>

Output from VS2013 cmd:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC>where msbuild
C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\12.0\Bin\MSBuild.exe
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\MSBu ild.exe

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC>

All vcxproj-files starts with following lines:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Project DefaultTargets="Build" ToolsVersion="12.0" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">


If I use "Override default DEVENV/MSBUILD/VCBUILD location" field (C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\12.0\Bin\MSBuild.exe) it is also successfully compiled. But I'am looking for a solution to don't override default msbuild location because I suspect there will some problems later after migration to VS2015.

So my questions:
- Encountered anyone with this problem before?
- How to resolve it?
- How VBP determines which version of msbuild has to be used?
- Is there a way to define a global (only one time) option for all steps "Make VS 2012"?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2015, 08:07 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,494
Please see http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=4500

And then http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3044 if that doesn't help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2015, 12:44 AM
nikolaynnov nikolaynnov is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-04-2013
Posts: 4
As I see in (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=4500) VB analyzes sln files only to determine version of msbuild which has to be used. It seems it is a root cause of my problem as I don't have sln files for lots of my projects. Only vcxproj-files.
I hope VB team will fix it and in next versions the VB will analyze vcxproj-files as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2015, 02:26 AM
nikolaynnov nikolaynnov is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-04-2013
Posts: 4
It seems this issue is fixed in VBP 8.7. But still as make it work in VBP 8.2 without "Override default DEVENV/MSBUILD/VCBUILD location" field? Setting correct vcvars before calling visbuildpro.exe is not working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2015, 03:49 AM
nikolaynnov nikolaynnov is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-04-2013
Posts: 4
Tested in VBP 8.5: it works!!!
Ok, I will update VBP.
Thanks everybody.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
msbuild

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Copyright 1999-2017 Kinook Software, Inc.