Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2016, 12:54 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 307
Why is the RTF editor not recognizing links when pasting from a web page

I remember it used to work. When I copy from a web page & paste in item editor, It gets pasted as plain text. All formatting including links is gone.

I have 'prefer text/rich text' option disabled.

ltra Recall Professional 5.2
Copyright 2004-2016 Kinook Software, Inc.
Registered to: ********** (1-user license)
Windows version: Windows 10 Pro
Install path: C:\Program Files (x86)\UltraRecall
hrs32.dll version 5.0.1.3
hts11.dll version 11,0,2,3
mimepp.dll version 3.0.4
MSPTLS.DLL version 16.0.6925.1014
PolarSpellChecker.dll version 4.0.5.4
RICHED20.DLL version 16.0.6925.1014
SftPrintPreview_IX86_U_20.dll version 2.04
ter16.dll version 16.0.5.0
UltraRecall.exe version 5.2.0.8
unins000.exe version 51.52.0.0
Database filename: C:\Users\xxx\Dropbox\FollowMe\dbox_UltraRecallDB\A ctive\xxx_PqGTD.urd
Database version: 4.0.1 [FTS]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2016, 01:39 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,494
Your browser may not be providing RTF format containing links when copying, which the rich text editor needs in order to paste formatted text/links. You can download, extract, and run

http://www.kinook.com/Download/Misc/ClipSpy.zip

to see which clipboard formats were provided by a copy command.

I've attached an example using IE 11 on Windows 10.
Attached Images
     
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2016, 02:46 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 307
The behavior seems to be inconsistent. If you see the attached image, it shows the 4 different browsers. The only one that provides RTF is Edge (shows as RUNTIMEBROKER). Even IE, does not, but its contents gets pasted with active links in UR. Firefox & Chrome do not and image shows they do not provide RTF.

It does not look the editor recognizes HTML. Only work around is to do ctrl+j, paste it in word, then resume internal editing. A laborious process for every copy/paste operation.

So, copying from IE & Edge works fine. Other browsers, no luck.

There is got to be a way

Thanks
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2016, 02:57 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 307
Does not look like Chrome will change its behavior anytime soon. The only hope is to have UR update its editor to recognize HTML natively just like Word or OneNote. It will be a nice Christmas gift


http://superuser.com/questions/54777...ith-formatting
Hi Evan,
I'm the editor of the clipboard API spec. I think Chrome's current implementation is spec-compliant (see "mandatory data types" section on https://w3c.github.io/clipboard-apis...y-data-types-1 ).

One of our goals is (and should be) to preserve the web's device independence. If it exposed the data types you want, it would cause script authors to start writing code with platform-specific strings in (event.clipboardData.getData('com.apple.iWork.TSPD escription')) and this would have several negative consequences:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Copyright 1999-2017 Kinook Software, Inc.