Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2009, 09:49 PM
slangmgh slangmgh is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-04-2006
Posts: 34
How can i display the Attribute like "Lineage" in attributes pane

Some attributes like "Lineage", "Indent Level" seems cannot be add to attributes pane, is there any way i can do it, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:38 PM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Re: How can i display the Attribute like "Lineage" in attributes pane

Quote:
Originally posted by slangmgh
Some attributes like "Lineage", "Indent Level" seems cannot be add to attributes pane, is there any way i can do it, thanks.
Where do you find these attributes being exposed in UR?
Are these rich text attributes?
Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2009, 11:04 PM
slangmgh slangmgh is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-04-2006
Posts: 34
Re: Re: How can i display the Attribute like "Lineage" in attributes pane

Quote:
Originally posted by armsys
Where do you find these attributes being exposed in UR?
Are these rich text attributes?
Armstrong
These is virtual system attributes, you can find them in Tools/Attributes menu. http://www.kinook.com/UltraRecall/Ma...attributes.htm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2009, 11:10 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,758
Quote:
Originally posted by slangmgh
Some attributes like "Lineage", "Indent Level" seems cannot be add to attributes pane, is there any way i can do it, thanks.
No, since the Item Attributes pane shows attributes for the item itself, and those attributes are specific to a particular link (and the selection may be for an item itself and not a particular link).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2011, 07:00 AM
schferk schferk is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-02-2010
Posts: 151
I've been trying to display such a virtual attribute, the indent level, anywhere, for the last two hours (including searching the "help" file and this forum, as usual).

I need that in order to write a program that would "read" the indent level of every given entry in the tree, in order to build up that same tree within another outliner (but without import functions), e.g. ActionOutline, whose better printing function would then allow me to print my UR stuff as I like it to be printed.

So please can you tell me WHERE such a virtual attribute IS / CAN BE displayed, in any fetchable way (= "select field xyz, control-c" or something), since that should be possible, in any way : Would those virtual attributes (= calculated on the spot) be totally invisible, why would they exist in the very first place (= in the "help" file and in this forum's discussion I mean, and not only internally, without being speaken here and there of) ? IF there ain't indeed accessible but by the search function, is it imaginable to search for every item in the tree, then to display all results (e.g. 813 for 813 items in the tree) in tree order (!), and an external program would then "read" those indent level indications from the search results list, one by one, to fill up its array positions accordingly ? Could this be possible, at least, or is there any simpler way of doing such a one-by-one read of those values ? By exporting a list perhaps ? Anyway, displaying such values on-screen upon request should be possible without searching / exporting, and possibly is, without my having discovered it ?

Again, it's the very basic functions of UR - here : an attribute which is there, but which I can't get access to - that make me endlessly turn around, so much for the "help" file, again. BTW, even in the status line (from which it wouldn't be "fetchable"), I cannot display that attribute "indent level". And I know there's "View - Choose Columns", and "Tools - Attributes", and "Tools - Options - Attributes", nothing helps. Generally speaking, if UR did a complete rehaul of its attributes management (understood at this point in time by perhaps 15 p.c. of its users, I (perhaps erroneously) think), UR's overall accessibility to new prospective users would be easily doubled if not tripled just by that.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by schferk; 10-18-2011 at 07:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2011, 08:53 AM
$bill $bill is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-14-2006
Posts: 210
You can display the attribute 'Indent Level' in the Child Items window by right clicking on the headers and then more to display the Choose Columns box.

Edit- The View | Choose Columns seem to work for me too as does exporting items with the attribute "Indent Level".

Last edited by $bill; 10-18-2011 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2011, 10:13 AM
schferk schferk is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-02-2010
Posts: 151
Thank you and please help anew !

Thank you very much, I had done a lot of clicking and right-clicking thruout the screen, but must have overlooked that right-click menu entry indeed, it works fine up to a point.

That point is, how to do a tree order sorting of all those entries then in the related items pane ? I check "indent level" and "tree order", and I sort by tree order, and then I do NOT get a list sorted by tree order, but MANY an entry get the SAME "tree order" number, many "0", then many "1", then many "2", and so on, within the field "tree order", and with each "tree order" number group, the alphabetical sorting by title begins anew, whilst I need that long list as in the tree, just with added indent numbers.

And I do NOT understand, of course, why the "tree order" attribute has many 0...5 values, in order to have, e.g. 813 single values going from 1 to 813 ; and these values between 0 and 5 are NOT identical with those in the "indent level" attribute of each item, I checked.

You belong, by all evidence, to that 15 p.c. group of UR users having understood its attributes' management, I'll never do, for me it's a black box (and those weird "tree order" values above are a perfect example for UR's being such a black box, without possibility of natural understanding). With a lot of difficulty, I use some function, then I don't need it for 6 months, then again I need to use it, and I start from scratch, total absence of intuitiveness making me a sheer beginner again, and without helping help file entries : That's devastating.

Thus, please answer my follow-up question as well : How to have the tree entries, in the related items field, in real tree order ?

I knew this, as even the answer to my first question, months ago, and as to the solution, I'm as disarmed as I'm for that now.

To speak frankly, it's not only for printing issues that I'd like to try to build such an "exit program", it's also because I'm seriously considering leaving, which, as I know, would please a lot of people here who then wouldn't be bothered again, like I didn't bother people anymore in the outlinersoftware and the mybase or what was it called again forums after leaving.

I simply DO NOT UNDERSTAND UR's architecture, not today, and not more than a year ago, and having discovered, far too late, the possibility of "opening" / loading a ROW of files in ANY given program, by "open..." and then ""a.yz" "b.yz" "c.yz" Enter"

- I simply hadn't been aware of this super-simple device giving anybody every means, in any given program, to do some sort of project management by simply storing such "command lines" anywhere, be it in the program itself, be it anywhere else, and to activate them by a most simple macro, and given the condition he's got cut up his stuff into a sufficiently large number of files so that their different combinations make any sense, giving quite different workspaces indeed -,

if I had known that procedure, I'd never had left AO for MyBase or what was it called again, no, MyInfo, voilà, and then for UR : it's paradoxical, I had 150 files in AO then, I have 150 files in UR now, so why not going back to AO where my work had been so much more fluid than it's in UR, with every single item being in need of being backed up / processed after even the most minor changes to it...

And given that indeed, I do NOT use UR's most brilliant feature, cloning - by fear of not being able to leave perhaps, as I have got MyInfo files left where I made the mistake of using its grid feature... multiplicating UR files instead so that "standards" are indeed available to me where I need them...

Zargron said, here in this forum, back in 2007 :

"All I can suggest to you and others is that you assume UR is based on high quality software design principles. Basically this means you assume it is very modularised with minimal dependency between each module. For example, assume that each pane is a separate object that has a carefully crafted low dependency on any other pane. Assume each toolbar has little or no dependency on any other toolbar. Assume importing and exporting has “no” dependency on printing and visa versa. If would be nice, (but very rarely happens), if the software vendor conveys dependency problems when responding to suggestions."

I'm sure he's right, but then, his remark does NOT help me to understand why in such a fine program, when you look at a "tree order" value, you get multiple 0/1/2... instead of a row between 1 and the number of items the tree has.

COPING with this program of supreme opaqueness is far too demanding, I'd prefer going back to a very simple but really intuitive program where WORKING with the program is easy, even for dumbos like me.

So, please help me with leaving, in telling me how such a tree order in the related items pane can be obtained. I knew it once, I've simply forgotten, and UR isn't a program that allows for forgetting ways of doing things, that's why I can't barely bear it anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2011, 03:42 PM
schferk schferk is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-02-2010
Posts: 151
I'd thought it to be rather GOOD news that I'm considering leaving !?

Some explanation of that weird phenomenon (weird to me, perhaps perfectly senseful indeed) in the related items pane would be very helpful for understanding even without helping me to have the list there I want.

And finally, that list I want must be most easy to obtain, but how ?

And I promise to publish the program here when it'll work, or to NOT publish it here, depending on Kinook's preference. ;-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.