Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:46 PM
mweinberger mweinberger is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-23-2005
Posts: 40
Implementing a Custom Script

I want to create and implement a custom dialog. I looked at the sample code, Prompt.bld, and created my own VB6 DLL. I saw the "VB6 Action.actn" file and created my own one.

<?xml version='1.0' encoding='utf-8'?>
<action DefaultProperty=''>
<GUI Category='Custom Actions' Description='Custom actions' Bitmap='VBProActionShowLabels.dll,101'></GUI>
<ActionComponent>VBProActionShowLabels</ActionComponent>
</action>

I dragged and dropped this action file onto the form, but can't start the DLL. I just get

Error creating custom action 'VBProActionShowLabels': Class not registered
Step 'Run VBProActionShowLabels' failed

or some other error depending on what I try. I don't see anything in the .actn file that will start the VB6 DLL. What am I doing wrong. The online documentation doesn't really talk about the steps necessary after creating the VB6 DLL. I wouldn't mind a "Steps for Dummies" type of section, as it is frustrating.

The VB6 DLL is "VBProActionShowLabels.dll"

Thanks in advance,

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2006, 10:08 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,003
The ActionComponent needs to be the ProgID of the COM component implementing the action. For VB6, that will be ProjectName.ClassName. VBP v6 provides a GUI front-end for configuring actions, which simplifies things quite a bit:
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/?actionproperties.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:01 PM
mweinberger mweinberger is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-23-2005
Posts: 40
Thanks for the quick reply

Your statement makes sense. The sample didn't click, when it said "XXXX.Class1". I didn't realize that "Class1" was the name of the class implementing the function.

I'm at home now (Friday evening), but I will definitely try the new name out on Monday morning and report the results! I really appreciate the quick response.

Thanks a lot! BTW, I'm really glad that my manager turned me on to your product. I was using batch files before and never even knew about your product. I plan to get my own company for my own stuff.

Martin A. Weinberger
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:14 AM
mweinberger mweinberger is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-23-2005
Posts: 40
Still doesn't work :-(

Never mind on this specific reply. I'm getting inside the DLL but aborting, so now I have to debug. :-)

Last edited by mweinberger; 01-30-2006 at 11:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.