Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2020, 07:28 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 433
Splitting an item: Why is UR using entire paragraph as a title

Appreciate the new 6.1 release.

When splitting an info item containing three paragraphs, it using entire paragraph as new info item titles and item text is blank.

This is, to me, is counter-productive. I have to go to each item and copy/past titles to text area and trim the titles afterwards.

Why can't UR just use the first line as a title and insert entire paragraph in editor.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2020, 07:31 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 433
Here's an example ...
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2020, 02:00 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 433
What is the intended use-case for this feature i.e. splitting an item? For mine, it helps me break down big articles by inserting delimiters at several places and let UR do the rest.

Is this beyond scope of this feature?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2020, 06:18 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,751
Testing was primarily with breaking up by paragraphs, but that should be supported as well. We will investigate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2020, 06:45 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 433
Actually, thinking about it, paragraph or not, it should not matter. I'm thinking that UR splits by whatever delimiter string user has specified regardless of what appears between them.

On a different issue, but may be related, I have noticed this feature (split/join/append) does not apply to mouse actions e.g. dragging text to an info item. If I paste text, it gets appended, but dragging it does not append. It creates a new child.

Is there a way, for example, to press a modifier key i.e. shift to have it append while dragging.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2020, 06:22 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,751
In the latest download (6.1.0.1),

1) The split behavior has been modified to truncate the item title at the MaxCharsForItemTitle registry setting (which also trims partial words and truncates at first newline).

2) When joining, whether item titles are included is now determined by registry setting IncludeItemTitleOnJoin.

See https://kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=5670 for more details.

Split/join functionality is not supported during drag/drop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.