Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2005, 02:53 AM
srdiamond srdiamond is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-23-2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 126
SDI vs. MDI

What are the advantages of an SDI interface? Except in that one respect, the features of UR are cutting edge. But Kinook chose to buck the trend toward tabbed interfaces. Of course it is easy enough to open another file simply by opening a copy of UR, but MDI comes into its own when applied to infoitems, not to files.

These days the outline-based pims that provide for a tabbed interface for infoitems are: TexNotes and TexNotes Pro http://www.gemx.com), InfoRecall (http://www.phantech.com), WhizFolders Organizer Pro, and HyperClip (http://www.risksoftworks.com). So it might be significant that the three that are arguably the most technically advanced, UR, Idea!, and MyInfo stick with a single document interface when applied to items (MyInfo3 allows opening multiple files in tabs). So maybe there's good reason for sticking to SDI that I am unaware of.

Stephen Diamond
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:56 AM
kevina kevina is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 03-26-2003
Posts: 825
We made a decision to support the SDI interface because we felt it was best suited for the Ultra Recall application, and best modeled the way Ultra Recall was designed. We did carefully consider both designs, but ultimately chose SDI.

We also agree that allowing multiple tabs (for different Info Items) within an Ultra Recall instance could be a benefit, and we have this capability on our future enhancements list.

The reasons that complicate providing a "tabbed" interface in Ultra Recall include:
1) The extensive undo/redo capability provided
2) Go Forward/Go Back navigation
3) The numerous related Panes in the Ultra Recall application
4) Truncating of titles for each tabbed Info Item might limit the usefulness of the interface change.
Etc...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2008, 02:19 AM
Viggo Viggo is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-10-2006
Posts: 19
Smile

Greetings,

Any chance for reconsidering Tabbed MDI ?

I think Tabbed MDI is much more userfriendly, where one can very easily Ctrl-Tab between several open databases, and also arrange to see more than one open databases at the same time. I understand that MDI may add more challenges to the programmings with threading etc., but I would consider it well worth it.

Regards
-Viggo.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:45 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 433
Srdiamond ,
What does InfoRecall use for its data storage? Also, what options do you have capturing content from browsers?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2008, 10:26 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Quote:
Originally posted by Viggo
Any chance for reconsidering Tabbed MDI ?

I think Tabbed MDI is much more userfriendly, where one can very easily Ctrl-Tab between several open databases, and also arrange to see more than one open databases at the same time. I understand that MDI may add more challenges to the programmings with threading etc., but I would consider it well worth it.
You can assign Ctrl+Tab to Window | Next Database to use that shortcut to switch between multiple databases instead of tabs within a database (Tools | Customize | Keyboard).

You can see more than one database at the same time by setting 'Tools | Options | General | Windows taskbar entries' to 'Always one for each open database', restarting UR, then positioning each database window as desired.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Search across databases

Can a search be conducted across multiple open datafiles under the current interface?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2008, 03:11 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
No.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2008, 04:38 PM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
I think that is the strongest argument for a tabbed MDI interface. The ability the load up all the data files and run one search on all is a great convenience.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2008, 05:54 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
You can achieve that by using a single database, opening multiple tabs in the database, and hoisting the tabs to different items. Searches can be done on the whole database.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2008, 06:13 PM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
If I put everything I need to keep track of in one database that would solve the problem of multiple searches, but wouldn't ur slow down noticably as the size of the data gets really large?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-06-2008, 08:16 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Probably not, as long as the db size is not gigantic (like 300MB to 400MB or less).
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?threadid=709
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?threadid=731
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2008, 12:53 PM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Could you add the option to open all the databases that were open when you last closed ur?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2008, 01:46 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
It does by default, as long as you exit (File | Exit) with the desired databases open.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2008, 03:18 PM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Yes - thanks for that - works great.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:11 AM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Also if you open the database toolbar you have something that looks a lot like a tabbed interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.