Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-29-2024, 02:41 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 517
Print Preview: Can we include %ITEM_TITLE% in header

I do most of my presentations in UR. I do not use slide-based apps because it does not show relationships or allow me to zoom in/out based on the audience. UR allows me to do both using tree hierarchy.

I then share content by printing the tree and item details into a pdf. It works well. However, UR allows me to use a small set of variables (for dates mostly) in the header/footer or custom string.

I really would like to use %ITEM_TITLE% because this is basically like a header. I want the header to be visible/bolded. I do not care to have date bolded on top of each page.

Is there a way to do this? If not, would it be possible to add it? To overcome the possibility of having long item titles, have it truncated based on max length.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-29-2024, 02:42 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 517
Here's the print preview screen
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-29-2024, 06:53 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,033
When I print item details, the title is included in the header. Can you provide more details on what/how you are printing?

https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3038
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-29-2024, 09:38 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 517
I do not know why UR shows OS version as Windows 10 home. It is actually Windows 11.

Ultra Recall Professional 6.3 (x64)
Copyright 2004-2024 Kinook Software, Inc.
Registered to: **** (1-user license)
Windows version: Windows 10 Home
Install path: C:\Program Files\UltraRecall
HRW15.DLL version 15.0.0.1
HRW19.DLL version 19.0.0.2
HTW21.DLL version 21,0,0,0
HTW25.DLL version 25,0,0,3
msptls.dll version 15.0.4420.1017
msvcr100.dll version 10.00.40219.325
PolarSpellChecker.dll version 4.0.5.6
riched20.dll version 15.0.4420.1017
SftPrintPreview_x64_U_20.dll version 2.07
SSGPW.DLL version 1.0.2.1
SSLW.DLL version 1.5.0.3
TEW26.DLL version 26.0.0.7
TEW30.DLL version 30.0.0.6
UltraRecall.exe version 6.3.0.12
unins000.exe version 51.52.0.0
Database filename: X:\****.urd
Database version: 6.3.2 [FTS]
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-29-2024, 09:45 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 517
If I select a single info item, print preview shows item title in header with bolded text just fine.

When I print a presentation, I have to select multiple info items, in this case, UR defaults to multiple items string which is unhelpful.

You can see it in this screen recording: https://1drv.ms/f/s!At88Mf-PQl_LgtUA...oJLfw?e=McRuX3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-29-2024, 10:27 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,033
The item title is included, just not in the header (and I don't think the component used to render that supports it being dynamic per page).

Perhaps it could be bolded and spacing added to make it stand out more.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2024, 07:30 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,033
You can also check Tools | Options | Editor | Show combined text for multiple selection and Include item titles, and after multi-selecting, with focus in the detail pane, print preview will show each item and its title.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2024, 08:07 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 517
It looks like the item title will be placed in the header if one info item is selected in tree. For multiple selections, it won't work.

Wouldn't inserting a variable like %ITEM_TITLE% in the print preview settings solve the problem? Is there a programmatic restriction preventing it?

There is a a workaround, maybe. I noticed that if I use separator text, it gets prepended to the item title and brings more attention to it. No text formatting though.

Thanks
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2024, 09:38 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,033
The way it works is that the entire chunk of text content for all selected items is fed to the preview component, and there isn't a way to customize the title per item.

You can also add newlines to the separator for more spacing and increase the height of the header, and/or use the options I mentioned 2 posts up to have the item title be highlighted/underlined.
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2024, 11:30 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 517
I like that. This should do the job.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Copyright 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.