Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:55 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
I get the same result for Pro and Cmd:

"D:\Temp\support\forum\DriverPack.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"
Getting latest version of driver pack builder script.
'tf' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Calling driver pack builder.
The system cannot find the path specified.
Press any key to continue . . .
Press any key to continue . . .


Try prefixing the Command field with

%DOSCMD% call

http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Manual/programtab.htm

If that doesn't help, please try uninstalling Visual Build and downloading+installing http://www.kinook.com/Download/Temp/VisBuildProTest.exe

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:09 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
Try the last project(sourceindex.bld) I attached. The project just run a batch file. The batch file has on only echo command in it. I can see the echo lines if I use VisBuildPro but I cannot see them if I used VisBuildcmd. It looks like batch file are not run with VisBuildCmd!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:20 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
I *did* build sourceindex.bld. The contents of DriverPack.bat are:

@echo off
echo Getting latest version of driver pack builder script.
tf get /force /noprompt $/Drivers/Utilities/DriverPackBuilder

echo Calling driver pack builder.
"C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro7\VisBuildCmd.exe" DLLPATHS=%1 "D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\Driv erPack.bld"
pause
pause


and the output from both VisBuildCmd.exe and VisBuildPro.exe are the same (shown in my earlier post). Did you try my suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:23 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
I tried VisBuildProTest.exe but I get the same result. My project was working fine with 7.1 and 7.2. It stops working when I upgraded to 7.5.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:29 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
sourceIndex.bld has just a command step that call the batch file tfsindex.bat.

Sorry I put the wrong batch file. please find the correct one attached. you will need to rename the file to .bat
Attached Files
File Type: txt tfsindex.txt (93 Bytes, 242 views)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:44 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
Your sourceIndex.bld was calling DriverPack.bat, not tfsindex.bat. I changed it to call tfsindex.bat and saved tfsindex.txt as tfsindex.bat (attached). With both cmd and pro, I get output of

3/24/2010 3:40:23 PM: -------------------- Starting Build: 'sourceIndex.bld' --------------------
3/24/2010 3:40:23 PM: Building project step 1 - Project steps...
3/24/2010 3:40:23 PM: Building project step 2 - Source-index The Driver PDBs...
"D:\Temp\support\forum\tfsindex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"
"/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"
"/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Debug=1"
"/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\D riverPackBuilder\tfsindex.cmd "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"
The system cannot find the path specified.

Process completed with exit code 1
Step failed, retry #1
Pausing 5 seconds...
"D:\Temp\support\forum\tfsindex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"
"/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"
"/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Debug=1"
"/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\D riverPackBuilder\tfsindex.cmd "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"
The system cannot find the path specified.

Process completed with exit code 1
Step failed, retry #2
Pausing 5 seconds...
"D:\Temp\support\forum\tfsindex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"
"/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"
"/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Debug=1"
"/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\D riverPackBuilder\tfsindex.cmd "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"
The system cannot find the path specified.

Process completed with exit code 1
3/24/2010 3:40:33 PM: Step '2 - Source-index The Driver PDBs' failed
3/24/2010 3:40:33 PM: Build ended (elapsed = 00:00:09).


Did you try prefixing with %DOSCMD% call?
Attached Files
File Type: zip forum.zip (761 Bytes, 322 views)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:53 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
I tried prefixing with %DOSCMD% call but I get the result
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-24-2010, 05:08 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
I put REM in the last line of the batch file and I remove the retry in the bld project and I get the following:

VisBuildPro
Trial version: 30 days remaining
3/25/2010 9:04:35 AM: -------------------- Starting Build: 'sourceIndex.bld' --------------------
3/25/2010 9:04:35 AM: Building project step 1 - Project steps...
3/25/2010 9:04:35 AM: Building project step 2 - Source-index The Driver PDBs...
Step default property 'command' = 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /C call "D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\tfsi ndex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"'
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /C call "D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\tfsi ndex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"

D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder>echo "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"
"/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"

D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder>echo "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"
"/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"

D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder>echo "/Debug=1"
"/Debug=1"

D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder>REM D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\tfsin dex.cmd "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"
3/25/2010 9:04:35 AM: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).


VisBuildCmd

VisBuildCmd, Version 7.5.0.2
Copyright (C) 1999-2010 Kinook Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
Trial version: 30 days remaining

3/25/2010 9:09:05 AM: Starting Build: 'D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\sour ceIndex.bld'
3/25/2010 9:09:05 AM: Building project step 'Project steps'...
3/25/2010 9:09:05 AM: Building project step 'Source-index The Driver PDBs'...
Step default property 'command' = 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /C call "D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\tfsi ndex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products
\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"'
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /C call "D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\tfsi ndex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=
1"
3/25/2010 9:09:05 AM: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).



It looks like the batch file is not fired up. How can I get hold of 7.2a
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:15 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
I replied to your email directly. Did you received them?

How can I get hold of 7.2a?

We are using the build project quite a lot and I will be on leave tomorrow night. I need to restore a working system by then.

thanks

Gilles
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:33 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
http://www.kinook.com/Download/Old/VisBuildPro72a.exe
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:58 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
I am very puzzled now. I uninstalled 7.5 and re-installed 7.2a and the batch file is still not working when using VisBuildCmd. I am pretty sure the batch files were working before the installation of 7.5.

I do not think I uninstalled the system files. May be there are the problem.

Please can you which file where put in c:\windows\system by vis build installer?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-24-2010, 07:56 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
None of the files installed to the system folder have changed since v7.2a, and I'm pretty sure they wouldn't affect this issue, but they are:
csftpav6.dll
cshtpav6.dll
csmsgav6.dll
csmtpav6.dll
csnwsav6.dll
cspopav6.dll
cstntav6.dll
cstrace6.dll
cstshav6.dll
capicom.dll
dzgt32.dll
dzips32.dll
dunzips32.dll

It appears the problem is that when a Run Program step calls your cmd file (or a bat file, which in turn calls the cmd file), no output is captured for the step? That is a strange one -- we couldn't reproduce that problem here with cmd/bat files like this and sourceIndex.bld:

-- tfsindex.bat --
echo %1
echo %2
echo %3
%~dp0\tfsindex.cmd %1 %2 %3

-- tfsindex.cmd --
echo %1
echo %2
echo %3

which results in output of:

3/24/2010 6:54:36 PM: -------------------- Starting Build: 'sourceIndex.bld' --------------------
3/24/2010 6:54:36 PM: Building project step 1 - Project steps...
3/24/2010 6:54:36 PM: Building project step 2 - Source-index The Driver PDBs...
Step default property 'command' = '"D:\Temp\support\forum\tfsindex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"'
"D:\Temp\support\forum\tfsindex.bat" "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"
"/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"
"/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Debug=1"
"/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>D:\Temp\support\forum\\tfsin dex.cmd "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"
"/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"
"/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001"

D:\Temp\support\forum>echo "/Debug=1"
"/Debug=1"

D:\Temp\support\forum>rem D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\Utilities\DriverPackBuilder\tfsin dex.cmd "/Source=D:\DrvGrp\NonODC\VC8\Drivers\DNPr\Developme nt\Branch2" "/Symbols=\\syd-file01\volatile\TDG\Release Symbols\Products\Drivers\DNPR\4.02.24.001" "/Debug=1"


Can you isolate the problem to a cmd file we can build here that reproduces the behavior?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:16 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
Any batch file is not working on my system. I get the same log (we can see the echo command of the batch file) as you when using VisBuildPro but not with VisBuildCmd.

You do not need to call a cmd or a bat file in the batch file called by Run Program step. The echo command is enough. I do not see the echo on my system.

How can we progress further?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:36 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
It is odd -- both apps call the very same component that actually performs the build. And going back to 7.2a, which was working, now doesn't. What is the output when building the attached project with a command of

"C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro7\VisBuildCmd.exe" test.bld

? And what gets written to the log file C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Kinook Software\Visual Build Professional 7\VisBuildPro.log?

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: bld test.bld (734 Bytes, 301 views)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-24-2010, 10:03 PM
citect citect is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-13-2008
Posts: 30
I can see the time and the string abc when using VisBuildPro but I get the following output if I use VisBuildCmd (the time and "abc" are missing):

C:\Documents and Settings\gilles.faure\My Documents\temp\kinook test>"c:\Program Files\VisBuildPro7\VisBuildCmd.exe" test.bld

VisBuildCmd, Version 7.5.0.3
Copyright (C) 1999-2010 Kinook Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
Registered to: Citect by Schneider Electric (5-computer license)

25/03/2010 1:45:36 PM: Starting Build: 'C:\Documents and Settings\gilles.faure\My Documents\temp\kinook test\test.bld'
25/03/2010 1:45:36 PM: Building project step 'Project steps'...
25/03/2010 1:45:36 PM: Building project step 'Create batch file'...
Step default property 'Filename' = 'C:\DOCUME~1\GILLES~1.FAU\LOCALS~1\Temp\test.bat'
Creating file C:\DOCUME~1\GILLES~1.FAU\LOCALS~1\Temp\test.bat
25/03/2010 1:45:36 PM: Building project step 'Run Program'...
Step default property 'command' = 'C:\DOCUME~1\GILLES~1.FAU\LOCALS~1\Temp\test.bat abc'
25/03/2010 1:45:36 PM: Building project step 'Show exit code'...
0
25/03/2010 1:45:36 PM: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).

C:\Documents and Settings\gilles.faure\My Documents\temp\kinook test>




See attachment for VisBuildPro.log. This is using 7.5. Also if an exe is called from the Run Program step it is working fine. I do not know what is the difference.
I installed 7.5 before I found out about this issue on a third machine and I get the same output as above (no time and "abc" shown).
Attached Files
File Type: txt visbuildpro.txt (1.3 KB, 285 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.